Skip to main content

Our Story

ēCO Credit Union, originally Jefferson County Teacher’s Credit Union, was founded in 1939 to serve educators in Jefferson County and their families. Over the years, ēCO has grown and expanded our footprint. While our commitment to educators remains a priority, we are now community chartered, allowing us to serve anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in the following counties:

  • Jefferson
  • Shelby
  • Walker
  • Blount
  • Cullman

Today, ēCO has six branch locations, over $180 million in assets, and almost 16,000 members. When you join ēCO Credit Union, you become a part of something bigger. We are proud to say—You are ēCO!

2023 Annual Report

ēCO’s Mission Statement

ēCO Credit Union, a not-for-profit, member-owned and controlled financial organization is dedicated to providing financial services to its members. Our continuing goal is to provide financial services, assistance, and benefits of rates and terms more favorable than the competition, within the context of the credit union’s long-term financial soundness.